The Gift Shopping Dilemma

If you don’t know me, I’m a bit of an organizingaholic. Okay, I’m a lot of an organizingaholic. So when I stumbled onto this, I was so on board. I give you… Giftster!

IMG_0343

In a nutshell, it’s a gift registry that you can use in the form of an app on your smart phone or via their website.

I won’t go into great detail, but to give you an idea of how it works:

1) Create a group and invite your to be gift recipients to the group via email.

2) Once they’ve accepted your invite, everyone adds their lists. Tip! you can rate the items you put on your list. 5 stars shows you want it real bad. 1 star, not so much. Another tip! You can send anonymous notifications asking someone to update their list if it’s slim pickings.

3) Get shopping!

How it works: I look under my Group, say I call it Christmas 2014, I click Sam’s list. I see she has a jacket from Bootlegger on there – I’ll mark that item as reserved. First I want to see if I can find her size in-stock. I find it. Yay! 😀 I buy it, then mark it as purchased on her list.

Anytime someone reserves or purchases an item on a list it automatically updates so that everyone ( not Sam of course ) can see that that gift has been reserved or purchased.

Added bonus: It has the option to add your gift preferences. You can specify everything from your shoes size to what NOT to get you. Can I getta no underwear please? 😉 This feature makes Giftster an invaluable guide to getting and giving great gifts!

Oh and did I mention it’s free? Nice!

This is the first time I’ve used the app and I’m sure I’ve only scratched the surface of its features, But I’d love you to try it out and comment below!

Leave a comment